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1985 Annual

Convention
The State Bar of
Mexico Annual
will be
Albuquerque

New
Convention
held at the

Conwvention

Center  September 12-14,
As these dates coincide with
the New Mexico State Fair,
attorneys are advised tec
make early reservations at
one of the following hotels
which are holding rooms for
State Bar members. When
calling for a reservation, be
sure to mention that you

will be attending the State
Bar Convention,
The Regent Hotel

247-3600

$55 for a single or double
$65 for a triple or a quad

a9

e

The Albuquerque Hilton
800-821-1901

{The following rates depend

on location of rooms.)

$59 for a single
$69 for a double
$67 for a single
$77 for a double
$75 for a single
$85 for a double

Lo Posada de Albuquerque

242-9090
Standard Rooms

$42 for a single
$50 for a double

Deluxe Rooms

$55 for a single
$63 for a double

IOLTA Receives
IRS Ruling

New Mexico I0LTA has
received approval from RS,
On July 10 RS notified
Julie P, HMeerken that the
New Mexico IOLTA program
has received the favorable

ruling it had requested,
This is the last of  the
federal rulings needed
before impliementation of

IOLTA can begin in
Mexico.

New

Neerken says, "The ruling
states that banks will not
be obliged to send informa-
tion returns to IRS for
funds deposited in 10LTA
accounts, and that partic-
ipating law firms and their
clients have no negative tax
consequences because of the
program,"

Director Patricia AL
D*Andrea has announced
plans to begin signing up
IOLTA participants at the
Bar Convention in Septem—
ber,
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# Disciplinary Note

A woman complained that
she had sought advice from

an attorney regarding a
divorce and had paid a
retainer fee, She further
alieged that she had
changed her mind almost
immediately and had so
advised the attorney,
requesting a partial refund
of the fee. She had re-

ceived no response from the
attorney,

While the Disciplinary Board

does not generally become
involved in fee disputes,
when it appears that the

fee may be excessive under
the circumstances, an
inguiry will be made. In
that the woman was aileging
that she had paid $600.00
for a thirty minute meeting,

it seemed appropriate to
contact the attorney in
guestion.

The attorney responded and
provided documentation that
he had spent four (i)
hours interviewing the
woman and preparing plead-
ings which were in fact
filed prior to her decision
to reconcile with her hus-

band. His hourly fee for
the work of this type was
$105.00, and the retainer

agreement indicated that the
complainant was aware of
and had accepted this
hourly rate.

The agreement also provid-
ed that the minimum fee to
be paid was $780.00. The
attorney stated that $100,00
of the $600.00 he had
received was for costs and

offered to refund the
remaining $50.00 in trust,
He contended, however,

that pursuant to the terms

(continued on page 4)
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*/Disciplinary Note

(continued from page 2}

of the fee agreement he was
entitied to an additional
$280.00 from the complain-
ant as his minimum fee
(although he did state that
he was willing to forego the
collection of any additional
monies from his former
client.)

While disciplinary counsel is

ot aware of any ruling to
this effect by New Mexico
appellate courts, courts in
other jurisdictions have
held that the charging of a
minimum non-refundable fee
in a divorce case would be
violative of the public
policy which is to encourage
the stability of family units
and thus would constitute
an illegal fee in violation of
Disciplinary  Rule  2-106,
The theory behind such

ru. 3s is that efforts at
reconciliation might be
hampered where one or the
other of the parties has a
financia! investment (attor-
ney fees) at stake and that
courts should encourage the
preservation of viable family
units rather than promote
their dissolution. This
theory was advanced to the
attorney as one which

(continued on page 5)

Continuing Legal Education

NEGOTIATION & SETTLEMENT .
August 8 & 9, 1985 e The Classic Hotel, Albuquerque

[ New Mexico and Federal District and Appeltate Court Judges and Magistrates (Fee waived)

[0 s$50 Non-attorney Law Office Personnel 0

T 95 Trial Practice Section Member

PLEASE COMPLETE:

a [ sole practitioner
b 3 2-5 Attorneys

¢ [ 6- 10 Attorneys O
d O 11 or more Attorneys

{3 $100 All Others

An additional $10 will be charged to all those who register at the door.

ONE NAME PER REGISTRATION FORM, PLEASE!

NAME

$100 Attorncv ++ <[]  Pieese register me as a member of the

Trial Practice Section and apply $5 of
my tegistration fee to Section dues,

1 was first admitted to practice law in any jurisdiction
after December 31, 1981

ADDRESS

CITY/ZiP

PHONE

Mail with payment to: Continuing Legal Education, State Bar of New Mexico. P. 0. Box 25883, Albuquerque, New Mexico 87125,
Phone: In Albuquerque 342-6132. In-state WATTS 1-800-4326976.

Please indicate below if you wish to have this program filed for accreditation in an mandatory CLE state (Alabama, Colorado,
Georgia, 1daho, lowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, North Dakota, South Carolina, Vermont,

4

Waushington, Wisconsin and Wyoming) [ Please apply for CLE credit in the State of
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Disciplinary Note

(continued from page 4)

disciplinary  counsel  was
wilting to pursue,

The  attorney had not
considered the possibility
that his fee agreement
might be unethical and

agreed to refund the por-
tion of the fee which had
not actually been earned by
him. The file in the matter
was closed, although the
attorney was cautioned to
revise his fee agreement as
it pertaired to any future
divorce clients.

It should be
large retainers
cases are not

noted that
in divorce
per se

vie, ave of any rule of the
Code of Professional Re-
sponsibility so long as it is
made clear that unearned
portions of the fee will be

refunded in the event of
the termination of the
lawyer's services for any
reason. Neither is it the
policy of the Disciplinary
Board to direct attorneys

with regard to hourly fees
which may be agreed upon
with a .client, so long as
the entire fee charged is in
keeping with the directives
and spirit of Disciplinary
Rule 2-106(B). O

Budgets Due

As reported in News and
Views, Vol., 24, No. 27, the

Board Bar Commissioners
has adopted a new planning
and budgeting cycle. The
new cycle requires sections
and committees to submit
proposals for new programs
and budgets to the 5tate

Bar by August 1, 1985 so
that they may be reviewed
and evaluated prior to the

September Board of Bar
Commissioners meeting.
Proposals submitted after

the September meeting will
be considered and funded
to the extent that funds are

avaifable. O
LANM Seminar

Legal Assistants of New
Mexico (LANM) will hold

their summer seminar at the
(continued on page 6)

Continuing Legal Education

1985 UPDATEL:

CJ  New Mexico and Federal District ITWILL ATTEND ON:
and Appellate Court Judges and
Magistrates (Fec Waived) 1 August 5
Inn at Loretto, Santa Fe
(] $15 Non-attomey Law Office
Personnel (3 August 6
UNM Law School
L1 $25 Attorney Albuquerque

An additional $10 will be charged to all those who register at the door.

ONE NAME PER REGISTRATION FORM. PLEASE!

NAME

TREVENTING LEGAL MALPRACTICE CLAIMS

Size of Firm:

a [ sole practitioner

b [d2-.5 Attorneys

¢ O6-10 Attorneys

d O11 or more Attorneys

{11 was first admitted to
practice law in any
jurisdiction aftrer
December 31, 1981,
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ADDRESS

CITY/ZIP

PHONE

Mail with payment to: Continuing Legal Education, State Bar of New Mexico, I'. O. Box 25883, Albuquerque, New Mzxico 871285,
Phone: In Albuquerque 842-6122, In-stute WATTS 1.800-432.6970,

Please indicate below if you wish to have this program filed for secreditation in a mandatary CLE state {Alabimy, Colorado,
Georgia, Idaho, lowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Muncsots, Mississippi, Montana, Nevadi, North Dakota, South Caroling, Vermont,

Washinpton, Wisconsin and Wyoming) DPMease apply for CLE credit in the State of __
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