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I. INTRODUCTION 

The New Mexico Judiciary is committed to providing quality legal representation for 
indigent parties in certain civil proceedings when the law requires that an attorney be 
appointed by a court. Since 1993, the legislature has earmarked funds to pay for court-
appointed attorneys in the courts. The Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC), 
through the Court-Appointed Attorney Program (CAAP), oversees the administration 
of all court-appointed attorneys in these cases.  

This guide was created to clarify the policies and processes governing billing for non-
contract attorneys, and to provide examples for how to properly complete fee 
applications. The AOC will pay for attorneys in cases specified in Section II. These 
guidelines supersede all policies and procedures previously in effect relating to 
expenditures for non-contract attorney fee payments.  

For additional assistance, please feel free to contact the CAAP staff at 505-827-
4887 or aoccaaff@nmcourts.gov.  
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II. APPOINTED COUNSEL FEE SCHEDULE 
 

All non-contract attorneys will be compensated at $50.00 per hour for in-court and 
out-of-court work billed against a fee cap according to the schedule below. 

TYPE OF CASE – Milestone Event 
*RA = Respondent’s Attorney; GAL = Guardian 
Ad Litem; YA = Youth Attorney  

STATUTE FEE CAP 

Adult Protective Services  
Sequestered Hearing 

§27-7-27 (2007) 
$250 

New Mexico Uniform Parentage Act (RA) 
Adjudication of Paternity 
Denial of genetic testing 
Other (must have additional court order) 

§40-11A-641(A) (2009)  
$600 
$150 
$300 

New Mexico Uniform Parentage Act (GAL) 
Adjudication of Paternity 
Denial of genetic testing 

§§40-11A-608(C) or  
612(B) (2009) 

$150 
$150 

Uniform Probate Code- Guardians of Incapacitated 
Persons (GAL) adult only  
            Appointment of Guardian 

§45-5-303(C) (2009) 
$250 

Kinship Guardianship Act (GAL) 
Appointment of Guardian 
Revocation of Guardianship 

§40-10B-9 (2009)  
$600 
$600 

Mental Health – Adult only 
Commitment 
Extended Commitment 
Appointment of Treatment Guardian 
Review Hearing 

§43-1-4 (2007)  
$150 
$150 
$150 
$100 

Mental Health – Children’s Code (GAL/YA) 
Commitment (Involuntary) 
Extended Commitment 
Appointment of Treatment Guardian 
Commitment (Voluntary) 
Review Hearing 

§32A-6A-13 (2008)  
$150 
$150 
$150 
$75 
$100 

Children’s Code – (RA) 
Custody 
Adjudication/Disposition 
Judicial Review 
Permanency Hearing 
TPR 

§32A-4-10(B) (2005) or 
§32A-3B-8(B) (2009) 

 
$200 
$600 
$100 
$150 
$600 

Children’s Code – (GAL/YA) 
Custody 
Adjudication/Disposition 
Judicial Review 
Permanency Hearing 
TPR 

§32A-4-10(C) (2005) or 
§32A-3B-8(C) (2009) 

 
$200 
$600 
$100 
$150 
$600 
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III. RULES GOVERNING BILLING 
 

PRESCRIBED INVOICE FORMS 

RAs, YAs and GALs shall complete and submit the appropriate prescribed invoice 
form, associated with the relevant case type, listed below. If the submitted invoice 
form is incomplete or incorrect, the form will be returned and the attorney will be 
notified electronically. 

 

Case Type Statutory 
Authority 

Indigency 
Required 

Form # 

Mental Health (Adult) §43-1-4 No NCA-MH-1 

Mental Health 
(Children) 

§32A-6A-13 No NCA-SQ-6A 

Domestic Affairs; 
Uniform Parentage Act 

§40-11-19 yes (for parents) 
NCA-DM-GAL 
NCA-DM-RA 

Children’s Code/ 
Abuse and Neglect 

§32A-4-10  yes (for parents) NCA-JQ-2 

Children’s Code/ 
Abuse and Neglect 

§32A-4-10  no for GAL/YA NCA-JQ-1 

Probate/ Protection of 
Persons Under 
Disability 

§45-5-303(C) No NCA-PB-45 

Adult Protective 
Services Act 

§27-7-27 No NCA-PRO-1 

Kinship Guardianship 
Act 

§40-10B-9 Yes NCA-KG-10B 

Mileage 
Reimbursement 

NMSC Admin 
Order NO. 15-
8500 

No NCA-MI-4 
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APPLICATION FOR PAYMENT  

 

 

Filed by attorney. Select specific form from table above. 

 

 

Must attach the “Order of Appointment” with Presiding Judge’s signature. 

 

 

 

If necessary, must attach the “Order of Indigency” with Presiding Judge’s 
signature. 

 Must be filed within 30 days of completion of the milestone event/hearing. 

 

VENDOR AND TAX ID NUMBER 
The vendor number identifies you, the attorney, as a payee in the State of New 
Mexico’s vendor payment system. If you do not already have a vendor number, please 
call the CAAP for assistance at 505-827-4887.  
  
The Tax ID number for this purpose is your federal tax ID number (also called an 
Employer Identification Number, or EIN).  
 
GROSS RECEIPTS TAXES 
The attorney may request payment of applicable gross receipt taxes, in addition to the 
maximum allowable fee. 

REIMBURSABLE EXPENSES  

Mileage  

Mileage is reimbursable by the AOC for per-trip, out-of-town mileage when a 
trip is in excess of 40 miles, pursuant to the current regulation or New Mexico 
Supreme Court Administrative Order NO. 15-8500. Reimbursement for 
mileage will be paid at .46 per mile for all out-of-town mileage once the 
specified 40-mile per trip threshold is exceeded.  

To determine the number of miles traveled please go to RandMcNally.com 
http://maps.randmcnally.com/mileage_calculator  

o Enter the departure city and the destination city into the mileage 
calculator. 

o Attach a screen print of the Rand McNally mileage result to your 
reimbursement request. 

http://maps.randmcnally.com/mileage_calculator
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Filed by attorney. Must use Form NCA-MI-4.  

 

 

Must include file stamp date of the “Order of Appointment”.  

 

 

 

Must attach a copy of the screen print of from the Rand McNally mileage 
result.  

 Must be filed within 30 days of completion of the milestone event/hearing. 

Witness Fees 

 Rule 10-143 NMRA governs subpoenas of witnesses pursuant to the Children’s 
Code. Rule 10-143(B)(2) NMRA provides that service of a subpoena upon a named 
person shall be made by delivering a copy to such person and, if that person's 
attendance is commanded, the witness is to be paid a prescribed witness fee and 
mileage.  

 
The AOC’s Witness Fee Payment Guidelines provide that “witnesses shall be allowed 
no fees for service” but may be reimbursed “per diem and mileage expenses pursuant 
to the current Per Diem and Mileage Act.”  
 
The Guidelines go on to provide that the AOC will “not pay in-town mileage for 
witnesses” and will only pay mileage when the witness is required to travel “over 15 
miles one way from his town of residence.” Reimbursement for mileage will be paid at 
.46 per mile for all miles driven, once the 15-mile threshold is exceeded. Witness per 
diem will only be paid when the witness is required to travel for at least two hours 
“beyond the normal work day.” A “normal work day” is defined as 8 hours within a 
nine-hour period.   
 
Police officers and other law enforcement officers who are on duty at the time of trial 
shall not receive per diem or mileage.  
 
To summarize:  
• Did the witness have to travel out of their town of residence to testify? 
• Did the witness have to travel over 15 miles from his or her town of residence 

to testify? 
If the answer to either of these questions is no – the witness is not entitled to 
mileage. 

• Did the witness travel for at least two hours beyond their normal workday to 
testify?  
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If no, the witness is not entitled to per diem. 
 
If the witness is entitled to mileage and per diem the attorney must fill out the Witness 
Certification form obtained from the Court Clerk. If the form is not available, please 
contact the CAAP at 505-827-4354 or aoccaaff@nmcourts.gov. The form must be 
signed by the witness, the attorney, and the judge or judge's designee. The original 
form, a copy of the subpoena, any original receipts, and a copy of the client's 
indigency form/determination should be sent to the CAAP. The CAAP will process 
the application and then mail the payment to the witness. 
 

Expert Witness Fees 
The expert witness fee payment guidelines were amended in December 2007 to be 
consistent with the New Mexico Supreme Court's decision in State ex.rel. Children, 
Youth & Families Dep't v. Kathleen D.C. 141 N.M. 535, 157 P.3d 714 (2007).  
 
How to pay an expert: 

 Obtain a signed Order approving payment from the children’s court judge.  

 The order must be supported by findings consistent with the requirements 
established in: State ex rel. Children, Youth and Families Department v. Kathleen D.C. 
141 NM 535, 157 P3d 714. (2007)  

 Experts must be vendors for the State of New Mexico. An expert without a 
vendor number can call the CAAP for assistance.  

 Include an invoice from the expert. 

 Payment is on a reimbursement basis.  
 

The following Payment Schedule governs payment and must be followed unless 
lower fees apply: 

 

Expert Consultation or Prep 
Cost 

Court Appearance 
Cost 

M.D.  $105.00 per hour  $135.00 per hour  

Ph.D. including 
Psychologist  

$90.00 per hour  $120.00 per hour  

M.D. Specialist 
including Psychiatrist  

$120.00 per hour  $150.00 per hour  

Master’s Level 
including LISW, LPCC  

$65.00 per hour  $90.00 per hour  
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Unusual Expenses 
Requests for payment of discovery, deposition, or unusual expenses must be 
approved by the judge assigned to the case before the fees are incurred, and are 
only reimbursable if accompanied by an order from the district court judge 
assigned to the case.  

 
Please note that when determining whether to grant expenses, the assigned 
judge shall consider the value added to the proper representation at trial, and 
whether another available alternative would fulfill the same function at a lesser 
cost.  

NON-REIMBURSABLE EXPENSES 

Routine office expenses including, but not limited to, long distance telephone 
or fax charges, photocopies, postage and delivery charges and parking shall be 
absorbed by the attorney.  The following are examples of additional non-
reimbursable expenses: 

 Mileage and parking incurred between the attorney’s home and office, the 
attorney’s home and court, or the attorney’s office and court; 

 Fixed office overhead expenses; 

 Court transcripts or depositions, except as provided by law; 

 Lodging, meals, mileage and travel by common carrier for the client, the client’s 
family, the client’s friends, or for the attorney’s employees; and 

 Services performed by a social worker, including, but not limited to, expenses 
incurred to use a Licensed Independent Social Worker to do child interviews 
and home investigations. 

SUBMISSION DEADLINES 

 Fee applications must be submitted within 30 days of the date of the journal 
entry disposing of the complaint or motion, or date of the journal entry 
approving the case plan, whichever is later. 

 Fee applications submitted past 30 days will result in a 50% reduction in fees 
and expenses.  

 Fee applications submitted past 60 days will not be paid. 

 Defective fee applications that are corrected and resubmitted within 10 days of 
being returned will be reimbursed at the same rate as if they were correct on 
the date first submitted. 

  
  



Non-Contract Attorney Payment Guidelines   8 

IV. EXTRAORDINARY FEES 

In cases involving unusual complexity or special circumstances that warrant a 
significantly greater than normal time commitment, additional compensation may be 
granted: 

 Upon application by the attorney to the CAAP; or 

 By order of the court, after appropriate review of time records and other 
documentation, and upon a finding that the hours expended are necessary 
and reasonable, and compensation under these guidelines inadequate, and 
contingent upon the availability of funding. The court's order shall set forth 
the specific unusual facts and circumstances of the particular case justifying 
the excess fee. 

CASES IN WHICH EXTRAORDINARY FEES MAY BE GRANTED: 

 Complex cases involving multiple parties, which require an extraordinary 
amount of trial preparation time. 

 Cases that involve unique legal issues. 

 Cases requiring extended days of trial. 
 
 
 
 


